Random days · Uncategorized

Simple Things That Complete My Summer

I grew up in a household who spends most of the summer at the beach. However, as we grew older.. most of us got busier.. until summers just turned into a mere escape from the toxic work hours. Now, I can barely remember the last time the entire family went out to go “beaching”.

20150112_152256
Bohol Beach club 2015

I remember the first ever summer we skipped on out of town beach trips. You can imagine my dismay after the momentum of my annual full-throttle summer escapades came to a FULL STOP. I know.. it’s unspeakably frustrating.

Nevertheless, as I got used to summer staycations, I slowly learned to appreciate the SIMPLE things that somehow make my summer SPECIAL.

  1. TROPICAL FRUIT FEST
    • water melon, ripe mango, soursop, avocado, pineapple, cantaloupe, papaya..etc. Oh my! I could eat them all day everyday! My happy days are made of these awesome snacks filling our fridge and my tummy.. πŸ˜€ My heart literally skips a beat at the sight and bite of any of these.. especially sweet guyavano! ooh wee!
  2. Beach Basking
    • It doesn’t matter where.. as long as it’s a beach (and clean, of course). My usual go-to spot has always been my “Sunset Blvd”..all because it’s near, it’s simply beautiful and it’s FREE. Lol. What matters to me is the whiff of Β fresh sea breeze ..and a solitary moment delighting at the the resplendent natural view of the beach, mountains and sunset..ahhh.. Praise God for nature!
    • 20140601_094032
      Boracay 2014
  3. Crustacean Feast
    • I know it doesn’t need to be summer to indulge in sea foods. But my memories inevitably “associate” king crabs with the beach, hence, there’s a different vibe eating them on summer nights.. not to mention devouring them while lounging at the beach! It’s exactly what gives me the “high” equivalent to someone else’s sugar rush. Lol
  4. Β Church Hopping with Family
    • Now this has been a family tradition ever since the beach escapades stopped. We do it every Lent (a.k.a Visita Iglesia). I think it’s safe to say that this has been the more meaningful alternative. Albeit not as “fun”, there’s something about the bonding that we share as we spend more quality time with each other and as we draw ourselves closer to God in the process that gives this newly-found family tradition a deeper meaning. πŸ™‚
20140413_160820
Visita Iglesia 2015: The only decent photo since they are all a bunch of photophobics. Lol

There you go! πŸ™‚

While some might consider these mundane, my summer just won’t feel like “real summer” without these ordinary things that make it a whole lot more extra special. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

